Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Welcome to the Department of Dermatology of the University of Illinois College of Medicine Peoria.

Ours is a small, clinically-oriented Department, focused on medical student education and patient care. We do participate in the educational activities of the various residency programs, especially Family Practice.

The Department was founded in 1972 by Dr. Edward Peterka. Dr. Peterka served as Chair from inception to 1979. He and the other faculty taught periodic sessions with the medical students over many years.

He was followed by Dr. Dorinda Shelley (1979-1983), assisted by her husband, Dr. Walter Shelley, who had been Chair at the University of Pennsylvania. Subsequently, Dr. Raj Swaminathan became Chair (1983-2003), followed by Regional Deans (Drs. Rager, Lorenz and Rusch). Dr. Allan Campbell was appointed Chair in 2008 and served until 2018. Dr. Joshua Kentosh became chair in 2018.

It is the mission of our Department to fulfill the educational needs of our medical students, residents, faculty and practice community. We also hope to facilitate research in skin disease and enhance patient care. Support of the Department through the Giving fund would be most useful and appreciated.

Contact Us Heading link