Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Photo of Dinh, Dzung

Dzung Dinh, MD


Department of Neurosurgery



530 NE Glen Oak Ave, Peoria, IL, 61637

Office Phone:



In addition to his role at Illinois Neurological Institute, Dr. Dzung Dinh is committed to ongoing research and teaching future surgeons. This is evident as he was honored with the Residency Teaching Award for Teaching Excellence, Neurological Surgery at the University of Illinois College of Medicine Peoria (UICOMP) in both 2001 and 2003.

Dr. Dinh is certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgery and has focused his expertise in the areas of complex spine, skull base, pituitary tumors, carotid surgery and peripheral nerves. He is active in numerous medical societies such as the Neurotrauma Society and the Spine Arthroplasty Society. He also has served on various committees including the James Scholar Committee at UICOMP, the Society of Neurological Surgeons, the CNS, and AANS. He is extensively published and has presented his work internationally. His research has focused on brain tumors, and spinal cord regeneration using stem cells.

Not only has Dr. Dinh achieved excellence in surgery, research and teaching, but he earned his Executive MBA from Tulane University’s School of Business. Originally from South Vietnam, Dr. Dinh is a U.S. citizen who has lived throughout the country during his medical training. He served our country as a major in the Army Reserve for more than 10 years. Dr. Dinh lives in Peoria.

Practice Specialty

Complex Spine, Skull Base, Pituitary Tumors, Peripheral Nerves

Academic Rank at UICOMP

Professor, Department of Neurosurgery

Board Certification

The American Board of Neurological Surgery, 1994


B.A. - Coe College (Iowa), 1981
M.D. - University of Iowa College of Medicine, 1985
Internship - University of Southwestern Texas, Parkland Memorial Hospital, 1986
Residency - University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria, 1991
M.B.A. - Tulane University School of Business (Louisiana), 1999