2016 Surgery Residency

Department of Surgery

Welcome to the Department of Surgery for the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria (UICOMP)! The UICOMP Department of Surgery has a long tradition of excellence in clinical care and teaching. Our education program includes a General Surgery Residency Program comprised of four categorical residents per year. Our five-year program trains and prepares residents for entry into Fellowships, as well as, General Practice Services.

We also manage the third year medical students during the surgical clerkship and fourth year medical students during their participation in any of our 19 different surgical electives. The department consists of seventeen sections dedicated to providing the highest quality healthcare and training.

J. Stephen Marshall, M.D., F.A.C.S. is the Chair of the Department of Surgery as of 2015.  Dr. Marshall took the position after Norman C. Estes, M.D., F.A.C.S. retired in 2015 after 17 years of dedicated service as both the Chair and Residency Program Director.  James DeBord M.D., F.A.C.S., continues to serve as the Vice-Chair of the Department of Surgery, and Babis Rammos, M.D., F.A.C.S. as the Vice-Chair of Research.

Steven S. Tsoraides, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S., F.A.S.C.R.S. was promoted to Surgical Resident Program Director from Assistant Program Director in 2015. Thomas Rossi, M.D., F.A.C.S. is the Associate Program Director, and Robin Alley, M.D. is the Assistant Program Director.

Richard Anderson, M.D., F.A.C.S. serves as the Surgery Clerkship Director and oversees the Surgery Electives. โ€‹