Emergency Medicine Faculty

Sarah A. Stewart de Ramirez, MD MPH MSc

Chief Medical Officer and Vice President of Clinical Innovation OSF HealthCare
Photo of Sarah A. Stewart de Ramirez MD MPH MSc

Biographical Info

Additional Titles/Positions

Associate Professor


Undergraduate: Miami University, OH

Medical School: Harvard Medical School

Residency: Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine


1995 Golden Key Scholar, Golden Key International Honor Society
1996 Undergraduate Research Scholar, Miami University
1997 Scholar Leader, Miami University
1998 Distinguished Student Award, Miami University
1998 USA Today’s All-Academic Team “Top 20 Best and Brightest Undergraduates in the Nation”, USA Today Newspaper
1998 Phi Beta Kappa, The Phi Beta Kappa Society
1998 National Harry S. Truman Scholar for Public Service, Harry S. Truman Foundation
1999 Joana Jackson Goldman Prize, Miami University & Jackson Goldman Endowment
1999 US Fulbright Scholar, United States Department of State
2000 British Marshall Scholarship for Public Service, Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission
2001 Highly Commended dissertation Prize for Outstanding Work, London School of Economics
2003 Global Health Fellowship, Infectious Diseases, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
2006 Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation Scholarship, Sarnoff Foundation
2008 Berny Jelin “91 Prize for International Community Service, Harvard Medical School & Endowment of Bemy Jelin
2008 SAEM Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award, Harvard Medical School
2008 Presidential Scholars Award for Community Service, Harvard University
2010 Emergency Medicine Global Health Fellowship, Johns Hopkins University
2010 Emergency Medicine Research Day Award, Johns Hopkins University
2011 Global Health Resident Fellow, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
2012 Outstanding Research of the Year in Emergency Medicine 2011-2012
2015 JHH SOM Synergy Research Fellowship Grant Recipient
2018 Fellow American Academy of Emergency Physicians (FACEP)
2018 Women to Women Community Leader Award for Health Care/Wellness
2019 VIC Curricular Innovation Award: Innovation in Rural Global Medicine

Research, Scholarly and Academic Interests

She is an Emergency Medicine physician and an Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Illinois College of Medicine Peoria where she created and directs the Innovation in Global Rural Health program. This program is geared at training future clinicians in the tools of innovation to address health disparities. Her expertise is in the fusion of innovative population health approaches with the science of health care delivery to optimize health outcomes for the most vulnerable patient populations.

Licensure and Certifications

Board Certified in Emergency Medicine


View on PubMed

Categories: Emergency Medicine, Faculty, UICOMP