Surgery 2017-07-15T13:42:37+00:00

Department of Surgery

Welcome to the Department of Surgery for the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria (UICOMP)! The UICOMP Department of Surgery has a long tradition of excellence in clinical care and teaching. Our education program includes a General Surgery Residency Program comprised of four categorical residents per year. Our five-year program trains and prepares residents for General Practice Services as well as Fellowships. We also manage the third year medical students during the surgical clerkship and fourth year medical students during their participation in any of our 19 different surgical electives. The department consists of seventeen sections dedicated to providing the highest quality healthcare and training.

J. Stephen Marshall, M.D., F.A.C.S. became the Interim Chair of the Department of Surgery after Norman C. Estes, M.D., F.A.C.S. retired in 2015 after 17 years. James DeBord MD, FACS, continues to serve as the Vice-Chair of the department. Steven S. Tsoraides, MD, MPH, FACS, was promoted to Surgical Resident Program Director from Assistant Program Director upon Dr. Estes’s retirement.

Richard Anderson, MD, FACS serves as the Surgery Clerkship Director, Thomas Rossi, MD, FACS as the Associate Program Director, and Babis Rammos, MD, FACS as the Vice-Chair of Research.

Contact Us

UICOMP Department of Surgery
624 NE Glen Oak Avenue
Peoria, IL 61603-3135
Fax: 309-655-3630